NEW ARRIVAL: Show your love with our Pop-Up Sponge Valentine's Day Cards (Wishpops) every kiddo will love!

7 Plant-Based Halloween Candy Options You Can Find at Any Grocery Store

You'd be surprised at how many vegan candy options can be found at every grocery store. These picks help make Halloween more eco-friendly.

Written by
Asha Swann
Published

Finding plant-based options at the grocery store that have a lower environmental impact is a cinch these days. Nearly every grocery store has dairy-free milk, alt-meats and cheeses, and other plant-based swaps. Vegan candy, on the other hand, is more of a specialty item that's typically only seen in health food markets. But get this: There are plenty of accidentally vegan options you can find just about anywhere.

Whether you're shopping for Halloween candy or simply want to stock up on some options for your next movie night, you'll be surprised to discover some of your childhood favorites were produced without any of the typical animal-derived ingredients, like gelatin, casein, or carmine. Since plant-based items tend to be better for the planet than their animal-based counterparts, they can make dessert time a little more eco-friendly.

While enjoying some vegan candy swaps can be a great move for the planet, there's one downside: Like many products, candy often comes in plastic packaging. For more eco-friendly snacking, simply buy candy in box-form whenever possible. Or, buy your candy in bulk: Instead of multiple plastic-wrapped candy packs, a large pack creates less waste.

Ready for some vegan candy picks? Here are seven mouth-watering options to get you started.

7 Vegan Candy Options for Halloween and Beyond

1. Sour Patch Kids

A lot of gummy candy gets its chewiness from gelatin, an ingredient that comes from the bones, skin, and connective tissues in cows and pigs. Surprisingly, both Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Watermelon are vegan, allowing you to enjoy the iconic sweet-and-sour taste.

2. Skittles

You can taste the rainbow, even if you're plant-based. While Skittles used to contain gelatin, the new-and-improved version doesn't contain any animal-derived ingredients. That includes Original Skittles, Sour Skittles, Tropical Skittles, and more.

3. Jujubes

You can't go wrong with Jujubes. Considering the fruity candy has been around since 1920, you know it's good. And no gelatin is needed for its beloved chewiness.

4. Oreos

Yep, even Oreos made the cut. Despite the creamy center tasting and looking like dairy, it's completely dairy-free. And yes, if you were wondering, they still taste just as good dipped in oat milk.

5. Grape Nerds

Unfortunately, most varieties of Nerds aren't vegan. That's due to the red and pink colors, which are made with carmine—a dye that's produced from ground-up beetles. Luckily, the purple variety is an exception.

6. Fun Dip

Who doesn't love Fun Dip? All of the flavors are accidentally vegan, allowing you to relive your childhood sugar rush every time you dip your stick into the sugary mix.

7. Twizzlers

Good news for all the licorice lovers out there: Every flavor and variety of Twizzlers contains zero animal products. That means you'll never run out of mouth-watering options to snack on.