7 Plant-Based Halloween Candy Options You Can Find at Any Grocery Store

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
"You'd be surprised how many of your childhood favorites are accidentally vegan!"

Finding plant-based options at the grocery store that have a lower environmental impact is a cinch these days. Nearly every grocery store has dairy-free milk, alt-meats and cheeses, and other plant-based swaps. Vegan candy, on the other hand, is more of a specialty item that’s typically only seen in health food markets. But get this: There are plenty of accidentally vegan options you can find just about anywhere.

Whether you’re shopping for Halloween candy or simply want to stock up on some options for your next movie night, you’ll be surprised to discover some of your childhood favorites were produced without any of the typical animal-derived ingredients, like gelatin, casein, or carmine. Since plant-based items tend to be better for the planet than their animal-based counterparts, they can make dessert time a little more eco-friendly.

vegan candy

While enjoying some vegan candy swaps can be a great move for the planet, there’s one downside: Like many products, candy often comes in plastic packaging. For more eco-friendly snacking, simply buy candy in box-form whenever possible. Or, buy your candy in bulk: Instead of multiple plastic-wrapped candy packs, a large pack creates less waste.

Ready for some vegan candy picks? Here are seven mouth-watering options to get you started.

7 Vegan Candy Options for Halloween and Beyond

1. Sour Patch Kids

vegan candy

A lot of gummy candy gets its chewiness from gelatin, an ingredient that comes from the bones, skin, and connective tissues in cows and pigs. Surprisingly, both Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Watermelon are vegan, allowing you to enjoy the iconic sweet-and-sour taste.

2. Skittles

vegan candy

You can taste the rainbow, even if you’re plant-based. While Skittles used to contain gelatin, the new-and-improved version doesn’t contain any animal-derived ingredients. That includes Original Skittles, Sour Skittles, Tropical Skittles, and more.

3. Jujubes

vegan candy

You can’t go wrong with Jujubes. Considering the fruity candy has been around since 1920, you know it’s good. And no gelatin is needed for its beloved chewiness.

4. Oreos

brown and blue chocolate pack

Yep, even Oreos made the cut. Despite the creamy center tasting and looking like dairy, it’s completely dairy-free. And yes, if you were wondering, they still taste just as good dipped in oat milk.

5. Grape Nerds

vegan candy

Unfortunately, most varieties of Nerds aren’t vegan. That’s due to the red and pink colors, which are made with carmine—a dye that’s produced from ground-up beetles. Luckily, the purple variety is an exception.

6. Fun Dip

Fun_Dip candy

Who doesn’t love Fun Dip? All of the flavors are accidentally vegan, allowing you to relive your childhood sugar rush every time you dip your stick into the sugary mix.

7. Twizzlers

vegan candy

Good news for all the licorice lovers out there: Every flavor and variety of Twizzlers contains zero animal products. That means you’ll never run out of mouth-watering options to snack on.


Hey there! Want to help us change the world every day through easy, achievable, eco-friendly tips and tricks? Sign up for the Brightly Spot and join our movement of over a million changemakers.

You'd be surprised how many of your childhood favorites are accidentally vegan!

This post may contain affiliate links. Brightly will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on these links.

RELATED STORIES

TOP ECO-FRIENDLY PRODUCTS

BRANDS WE LOVE

LATEST STORIES

at Brightly, we believe in the power of every day actions and conscious consumerism to change the world.

Everyone is welcome. Join our movement. The world is waiting.

good news. delivered.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER TO RECEIVE THE LATEST ETHICAL LIFESTYLE TIPS + MORE.